Log In

Non-confidence votes sweep UNB faculties

Thirteen out of UNB’s 15 faculties have passed motions of non-confidence in the university’s senior administration.

All of the faculties on the Fredericton campus have held non-confidence votes and out of UNBSJ’s three faculties, the faculty of arts has passed a motion since last March.

“I would say it is very serious for a university administration to be the target of such a strong vote. It seems even more significant that each faculty felt impelled to put forward their own motion,” said Miriam Jones, president of the Association of University of New Brunswick Teachers (AUNBT).

“Each unit came up with its own motion so there was some variation in wording, but the message is pretty strong: the majority of the academic staff at UNB do not support the senior administration.”

Jones added that the motions were not centrally organized.

Although the non-confidence motions are not binding, their purpose is to send a message.

“[It’s] generally to let the leadership know that they have lost their mandate, and the expectation is that those involved should resign or be removed,” Jones said.

Some faculties have reaffirmed votes of non-confidence that were passed last year. Last Thursday, the UNBF science faculty voted on a motion to “re-affirm its non-confidence in the senior administration.”

The motion carried with 30 in favour and three abstentions. This followed a similar motion by the faculty of business in February.

“The fact that people are still talking about it is a clear indication that the issues have not gone away,” Jones said.

The faculty of science passed another motion last Thursday that supported a senate motion for a performance review of vice-president academic Tony Secco. The motion carried with 36 in favour and four abstentions.

Senate will vote on a motion requesting Secco’s performance review at their next meeting on March 24.

Tagged under

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Banner 468 x 60 px