Log In

Songs of the week

Jay Electronica – “Road to Perdition”

Every time New Orleans rapper Jay Electronica shares a song it causes speculation that his long-awaited album may finally see the light of day. It was in 2012 that he originally shared the track list of the record, and now in 2015 he has released what was then said to be track 10 of the upcoming album, “Road to Perdition.” The new song features a sample of Jay-Z’s “Success” and sees Electronica delivering lines that are going to force you to look them up online; In fact he wants you to do so. “Google me, baby, understand where I’m coming from/My destiny’s to hit a grand slam when my number come,” he raps. We don’t know when that will exactly be, but Jay Electronica has a way of keeping people ready.


Kanye West – “All Day (feat. Allan Kingdom, Paul McCartney & Theophilus London)”

Though it has 19 people credited to writing the song, Kanye West will be the one that gets the primary credit for “All Day,” the most promising track he has shared in promotion of So Help Me God. Overtop a menacing beat that reminds of Yeezus, West brings a Watch the Throne-style rap song that is catchy in the complete opposite way that “FourFiveSeconds” is. Unlike West and Paul McCartney’s previous collaborations, “All Day” also features McCartney providing vocals on the songs outro. There is no release date yet for West’s much-anticipated album, but as is always the case, it seems the new record will be very different from what he has done before.


Modest Mouse – “Of Course We Know”

Modest Mouse continues to release new music in promotion of their upcoming album, Strangers to Ourselves. The latest is the catchy “Of Course We Know,” which is a little mellower than their previous singles, with dreamy backing vocals humming over a complex musical arrangement that continues to change throughout the song. “What in the hell are we here for? We just do not know,” sings Issac Brock, a question that the band has asked before using different words, and though “Of Course We Know” sounds familiar, the differences are enough to make it an exciting reminder of the past and preview of what is to come from the bands music.


Tobias Jesso Jr. – “Without You (feat. Danielle Haim)”

In lead up to the release of his debut album, Goon, Tobias Jesso Jr. recently appeared on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, performing alongside The Roots. His musical collaborations continue in his latest song, “Without You,” which features Danielle of HAIM on drums. The new track sees Jesso pleading for his love to give him a chance. The piano ballad isn’t a reinvention of the wheel, you have heard songs like this before, but the Vancouver native has been able to gain some anticipation towards the March 17 release of Goon. The record will be available via the Canadian record label, Arts & Crafts.


Tagged under

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Banner 468 x 60 px